top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin Boudreau

Daily Reflection

Updated: Mar 29, 2020



Wednesday November 20th, 2019

"I wait for you, O Lord; I lift up my soul to my God. In you I trust; do not let me be disgraced; do not let my enemies gloat over me. No one is disgraced who waits for you, but only those who lightly break faith. Make known to me your ways, Lord; teach me your paths. Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my savior. For you I wait all the long day, because of your goodness, Lord. Remember your compassion and love, O Lord; for they are ages old. Remember no more the sins of my youth; remember me only in light of your love." Psalm 25: 1-7

It can be hard sometimes, well most of the time, to figure out what it is God has planned for our lives. We want what we want when we want it. There isn't much thought as to whether or not it's what we should be doing or if it's good for us. But that's a lot of what society tells us today.

They try to brainwash us into believing that that kind of thinking is okay. That we should always get what we want when we want it. But that's not the kind of thinking that will bring us joy, peace, love, or lasting happiness. If we always think about the now, we forget about what's to come. That's what this passage is about for me.

It's our opportunity to tell God that we will wait for his plans for our lives. That whatever we are going through now; whether you are on top of that mountain feeling closer to God than ever before, in the deepest valley where you have never felt farther away, or maybe you're somewhere in between; it's all according to God's plan.

Now, I'm not trying to say that this is easy, it most certainly is not. There have been too many times to count where I have tried to rush God's plan to fit my own timetable. But let me tell you, it doesn't really work. I usually end up getting a metaphorical slap in the face that humbles me back into waiting.

But that's the greatest thing about God; He's loving and merciful. So when I mess up, I know He's still going to be there loving me and ready to welcome me with open and forgiving arms. He doesn't pay attention to our past mistakes when we repent and they're forgiven. It's not an "Oh yeah, I forgive you, but I'm gonna hold onto this for the next you mess up and remind you just how much you screw up." I know I'm guilty of this because it can be incredibly hard to let go of those hurts, especially when they hurt deep. But not with God; it's a clean slate.

And when we have that clean slate, it can (and take this with a grain of salt because it's not always) help you to see God's plan a little better. You won't be able to see it in its entirety -- at least I have never been able to, and if you can you are seriously one very blessed human being -- but the next step becomes a little more clear. And as long as we stay on that path, the path of truth, love, compassion, mercy, and forgiveness, we get closer to living a life full of joy, love, peace, and lasting happiness.

I'd like to end this little devotional with a prayer if you'll allow me.

Dear Heavenly Father,

I come to you today in thanksgiving for the many blessings in my life. I also want to thank you for the trials and obstacles that you have placed before me. Help me to see them not as something to keep me from you, but instead as something to overcome. Use them to make me stronger, wiser, more loving, more understanding, and more devoted to you. I know I cannot make it through this life without your love and guidance. In the words of your servant David: "I wait for you, O Lord, I lift up my soul to my God. In you I trust." Amen.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Labor and Delivery Story - Round 2

Wow, it's been a while. Over three years since my last blog post. For those of you who know me and know my family, you know we've been going through a lot the past few years and your support means the

bottom of page