top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin Boudreau

A Look Inside the Author's Mind

Updated: Mar 29, 2020



So this isn't going to be a poem or story. I just wanted to share a bit of my process, my inspirations, and what goes through my mind as I create my works.

So writing is not always easy for me, sometimes it takes me hours of just staring at a blank screen or a blank page as I come up with something to write about. Sure, I'll scribble some things down but then realize I don't like where it would lead (usually because it leads nowhere) and then I'm back to square one.

Other times, inspiration hits me upside the head and says "Hey! Write about this!" And then I grab a notebook, if one is nearby, or just use the notepad app on my phone and start writing. I do not pull my rhymes out of thin air, the website I use is rhymezone.com and I really enjoy it, it's a huge help!

As you might have been able to guess, most of my writing is Christian based or mentions God and our need to have Him in our lives. That's because I believe we do need Him in our lives. I wouldn't be able to do any of my writing if the Lord were not directing my hands as they type or my thoughts as they form a story. Every time I sit down to write, even if I try not to, it all ends up leading back to Him.

I didn't mean for it to be, but really it's a lot like our lives. We may try to get through things without Him, thinking we can do it on our own or it's not the way everyone else does things, but the truth is, is that we do need God in our lives. He's the reason we do things (or at least he should be). He puts things and people in our lives that allow us to be who we are and to glorify Him.

I've gone through some pretty rough times in my life, and He somehow saw that I couldn't express myself in person. So He gave me the gift of writing it. Writing became a way to connect with Him and myself and understand things better, and in that I found a passion for it.

I love creating poetry! You get to send a message while also not making complete sense with your words and if you know me, I don't always make complete sense so it works out perfect for me!

I love creating short stories, while it's a little more difficult for me to not draw things out, it's still something I love to do! Our daughter inspires most of my short stories because I think of ones that I would tell her.

And I love writing longer stories (usually they turn into novels)! My favorite genre is a religious romance. I've always been a huge romantic and I loved the stories of happily ever after I heard as a kid and true love and all of that. As you grow up, you find out it's a little more complicated than that. Yes, true love still exists, but the happily ever after isn't what they might lead you to believe. It's full of ups and downs, and lessons to be learned. But my favorite part about the religious romance, is that not only are they going through their trials together, but they have God at the center guiding them.

My novel writing (I'm not bragging, promise, I really only mean the novels I'm writing) is mostly inspired by those couples in my life (my parents and friends) and two Christian authors; Karen Kingsbury and Kristen Heitzmann. The love that they show each other really gives a small glimpse of the Lord's love for us. And that's what I love trying to create, while yes we are human and the way we love can sometimes be faulty, it's an imperfect glimpse reflecting a perfect love. And if we can love each other so completely and so deeply, how much more does the Father love us perfectly? Sorry to gush, but it just amazes me sometimes. See, again the Lord just takes my hands and types what He wants.

Well thanks for taking a read at what goes on in this crazy head of mine. I bid you adieu until next time.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our Labor and Delivery Story - Round 2

Wow, it's been a while. Over three years since my last blog post. For those of you who know me and know my family, you know we've been going through a lot the past few years and your support means the

bottom of page